As the deans of the University's schools, colleges, and libraries, and directors of research institutes, we write in strong support of the University of Michigan's decision to require COVID-19 vaccination for all U-M students, faculty and staff, with appropriate exemptions for medical and religious reasons.

The decision will help keep our University community safe and it's the best way to get us back to our full teaching, research, service, and public engagement missions--doing the most we can for our students and for the broader public good.

Vaccines are essential not only because they protect the health of individuals but also because they are a proven way to reduce the spread of infectious diseases across our community. Already, most students, faculty, and staff have reported that they are vaccinated.

The vaccines developed against COVID are safe and effective. The benefits of COVID vaccination to individuals and to our community far outweigh any risks. We support the University's vaccination policy wholeheartedly, and urge everyone for whom it is medically safe to get vaccinated as soon as possible.

Michael S. Barr Joan and Sanford Weill Dean of Public Policy Gerald R Ford School of Public Policy

F. DuBois Bowman Dean School of Public Health

Roger Cone Director Life Sciences Institute

Anne L. Curzan Dean College of Literature, Science & Arts

Thomas A. Finholt Dean School of Information

Alec D. Gallimore Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering College of Engineering

David A. Gier Dean School of Music, Theatre and Dance

James L. Hilton University Librarian and Dean of Libraries

Patricia D. Hurn Dean School of Nursing

Francine Lafontaine Interim Dean Stephen M. Ross School of Business David Lam
Director
Institute for Social Research

Jonathan Massey Dean A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture & Urban Planning

Laurie K. McCauley Dean School of Dentistry

Elizabeth B. Moje Dean School of Education

Bruce A. Mueller Interim Dean College of Pharmacy

Gunalan Nadarajan Dean Penny W Stamps School of Art and Design

Jonathan Overpeck Samuel A. Graham Dean School for Environment and Sustainability

Lori Ploutz-Snyder Dean School of Kinesiology

Marschall S. Runge Dean, U-M Medical School Executive Vice President, Medical Affairs

Michael J. Solomon Dean Horace H Rackham School of Graduate Studies

Lynn Videka Dean and Carol T. Mowbray Collegiate Professor School of Social Work

Mark D. West David A Breach Dean of Law Law School